Daily Prompt: Year

Resolutions. Goals. Dreams.

“Today is the first day of a book with 365 blank pages, do something amazing with it!”

Or some such thing.

Here’s what I want from 2017.

More kindness to myself.

Sounds funny. Sounds selfish. Sounds self-absorbed.

But in reality, I spend so much of my day to day being kind to others that it’s not always good for me and there are times when my self-loathing and self-doubt is really deep and really dark.

So I have nothing lofty for 2017 except to be a little more kind.

(Now I have that lyric from “Uncle John’s Band” in my head — Oh oh what I want to know, is are you kind?)

I have no idea what it’s going to look like except that it won’t be kindness to myself at the expense of being kind to other.  The world doesn’t need anymore of that.

But maybe:

I’ll read a little more for pleasure.

I’ll take a little more time off to rest.

I’ll learn to dance to the Dead again.

And maybe then, I’ll get that creative spark kindled again.

via Daily Prompt: Year

Leave a Reply

