There’s Something About…

“Mary, Mary, you’re on my mind,”

That’s what Michael Hutchence and Jimmy Barnes sing in “Good Times.”

I learned that song from the Lost Boys soundtrack, many many years before I ever stood in a room filled with icons and polycandelon (candelabras.)

But one day I stood in the church, and maybe it was because the light of sunset and the polycandelon hit this one icon just right, but the gold background, signifying the heavenly realm, glowed. I know it sounds crazy, and I’m not a huge proponent of ‘supernatural’ stuff, but the gold was glowing.

As it turns out, I was also contemplating selecting a patron saint.

One might think that in that particular moment of contemplation and the glowing of an icon, that maybe I was getting a message from my soon to be patron saint.

But I was told that there was no way this particular saint was my patron saint.

mary magdalene
Mary Magdalene, Holy Myrrh-bearer and Apostle to the Apostles

Men don’t get patron saints who are women, that’s what I was told. Period.

I guess they were twitchy about calling me by a female saint’s name during worship. So I chose my name-sake, Daniel. Easy peasy, mac n cheesy.

But I have always felt an affinity for the Apostle to the Apostles. In fact, she’s a big reason I’m not part of that particular church with icons, polycandelon, and incense. How do you have a female as the first messenger of the Risen One and then say they can’t preach or be ordained?

Thank you, Mary, for leading me to the path of embracing a holy diversity that embraces the marginalized.

Blessed feast day to you.

“Almighty God, whose blessed Son restored Mary Magdalene to health of body and mind, an called her to be a witness of his resurrection: Mercifully grant that by your grace we may be healed from all our infirmities and know you in the power of his unending life; who with you and the Holy Spirit, lives and reigns, one God, now and for ever. Amen” (Book of Common Prayer)

 

 

Leave a Reply

